Milwaukee Magazine wins 21 Milwaukee Press Club awards

See all of our award-winners here in one place.


Milwaukee Magazine is the winner of 21 Milwaukee Press Club Excellence in Journalism Awards. Ranking of the winners – gold, silver and bronze – will be announced at the Press Club’s May 15 Gridiron Awards Dinner at the InterContinental Hotel in Milwaukee.

See the full list of awardees here, and below, see all of our winners.


Best Long Feature Story

Erik Gunn, Raw Deal


Best Short Feature Story

Tim McCormick, And the Thunder Rolls

Matt Hrodey, Dillinger, 2.0

Claire Hanan, Droning On


Best Business Story or Series

Rich Rovito, Making Waves


Best Public Service Story or Series

Claire Hanan, Staff of Milwaukee Magazine, Handle with Care


Best Single Headline

Matt Hrodey Winning on a Peel

Mack Bates, The Black, the Bold and the Beautifully Versatile


Best Personal Profile

Claire Hanan A Study in Contrasts

Tom Matthews (Just Like) Starting Over

Howie Magner, The Importance of Being Brenner


Best Blog

Howie Magner, Sports Nut


Best Illustration or Cartoon

Pablo Iglesias, Rachel Stinebring,  Till Debt Do Us Part

Joe Ciardiello, Kathryn Lavey, Remembering Betty


Best Photo Essay or Series

Adam Ryan Morris, Matt Hrodey, Kathryn Lavey, No Occupancy


Best Feature Photograph

Adam Ryan Morris, Comic Relief


Best Overall Design

Kathryn Lavey, Krista Schmidt, Rachel Stinebring,  Milwaukee Magazine October, November and December issues


Best Single Cover Design

Kathryn Lavey, Adam Ryan Morris, Best Breakfasts

Kathryn Lavey, Abby Callard, Adam Ryan Morris, Claire Hanan, Michael Weiss, Lynee Ruiz, For Love & Money


Best Single Story or Feature Design

Krista Schmidt, Best New Restaurants

Rachel Stinebring, The Importance of Being Brenner