Last Year’s Betty Winners Talk About What the Award Means to Them

“I think this is such a timely award.”


The Betty Awards were created last year to honor the late Betty Quadracci, as well as Milwaukee’s most outstanding women.

On Friday, Katie Sanders, Patty Metropulos, Christine Flasch and Sister Edna Lonergan discussed their experience as the first Betty Award winners. They’ve established a strong sense of community — and the awards continue to inspire them today.



“This was a really wonderful opportunity for me,” said Sanders, who won the Bridge Builder award last year. “It gives an opportunity for people to reflect on what their strengths are and where they want to shore things up.”

Lonergan received the Groundbreaker award for her creation of Milwaukee’s first intergenerational day care facility, the St. Ann Center. She said that having received the award last year inspired and encouraged her as she dealt with the recent effects of the pandemic on the center. 

The nomination form for the 2020 Bettys Award is open from now until August 1, and you can read more about the award categories here

“I just see in our city and our country and our world so many obstacles, so many women out there doing incredible work,” said Metropulos, recipient of the Tenacious B award. “I think this is such a timely award.”



Elizabeth Johnson is an editorial intern at Milwaukee Magazine and a journalism major at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.