Plus the music that earned them the accolades.

Tonight 88Nine Radio Milwaukee unveiled the winners of their ninth annual music awards at their Fifth Ward studios (220 E. Pittsburgh Ave.). The night featured performances by GGOOLLDD, Milo, Soul Low, D’Amato, NO/NO and Ian Ewing of Noh Life. Over 3,800 online voters, the station’s sponsors, and local music critics helped crown the winners. 

Album of the Year

Soul Low, “Nosebleeds” 

Band of the Year


Song of the Year

Chris Siegel X Strehlow: “This Is How”


Solo Artist of the Year

Lex Allen

Critic’s Choice

Scallops Hotel, “Too Much Of Life is Mood”



Best Disc We Missed

Mike Regal, “Premonitions”


Independent Release of the Year

Brett Newski, “Land Air Sea Garage”

Best Album Artwork

Lorde Fredd33, “Dead Man’s View”

Music Video of the Year

Joe Quinto & Miguez Diaz, “Black Magic”

Humanitarian of the Year

A tie (!) between Anthony Hibbler and Charlene Young, Neh Phi Neph Fratority and Vince Gaa, Janice Vogt and rapper Webster X, FREESPACE

Music Ambassador of the Year

Jim Linneman, owner of Linneman’s Riverwest Inn. 

88Nine's DJ Ken Sumka, left, and Jim Linneman

88Nine’s DJ Ken Sumka, left, and Jim Linneman



RELATED  Who’s (Going to Be) the Boss? A Look at Milwaukee's Mayoral Race